India NGO Awards

The India NGO Awards is a unique, national competition that aims to celebrate and reward the best non-governmental and non-profit organisations by showcasing examples of best practice and successful resource mobilisation.

The Awards were instituted in 2006 to recognised and congratulate those organisations that have demonstrated best practices in creative resourcing, financial management, governance and impact in the community. The Awards focus on professional management, innovation in local resource mobilisation, and the effectiveness of the organisation’s activities in improving the lives of the people they serve. Initially launched in partnership with the Nand & Jeet Khemka Foundation, the 2009/11 India NGO Awards programme was funded by the Rockefeller Foundation. The India NGO Awards 2012/13 and 2013/14 are jointly funded by the Rockefeller Foundation and EdelGive Foundation. 

The India NGO Awards 2013/14

India NGO Awards

On 25 July 2014 the Rockefeller Foundation, EdelGive Foundation and the Resource Alliance hosted the India NGO Awards 2013/14. The outreach partner for the India NGO Awards 2013/14 was GuideStar India. The Awards recognise and honour those organisations that have demonstrated best practices in governance, financial management, creative resourcing and impact in the community.

The winners of the India NGO Awards 2013/14 were:

Small category winner - Save LIFE Foundation (SLF)

SLF is an independent, non-profit non-governmental organisation focused on improving road safety and emergency medical care across India. SLF works in collaboration with several organisations such as Bloomberg Philanthropies, World Bank, WHO, Global Road Safety Partnership, Harvard Medical School, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Mahindra & Mahindra and Bharti Enterprises.  SLF combines innovative on-ground interventions with advocacy for stronger national level policies to establish a sustainable framework for Road Safety and Emergency Medical Care.

Medium category winner - Sense International India

There are about 500,000 deafblind people in India. Sense International India is the only organisation which responds to the needs of people who are ‘deafblind’.  Deafblindness creates a unique condition which hampers accessing information and communication due to the combination of deafness and blindness. Sense International India works with deafblind children, their families and teachers in order to ensure education and training.

Large category winner - SOS Children’s Villages of India

SOS Children’s Villages of India is an organisation providing care to parentless children through a unique family based care model of creating a family of 10 Brothers and Sisters and a care giver, who becomes their mother. Thus, in addition to food, clothing and shelter, these children get a family, which becomes their support system for entire life. The organisation also has another programme – Family Strengthening Programme, which focuses on prevention of child abandonment.

Rising Star Award - Rural Health Care Foundation (RHCF)

RHCF is a non-profit organisation which has innovated a new delivery model of sustainable philanthropy, since 2007. RHCF ties up with a few corporates and provides them with space in their clinics to promote their brands. The money received from these corporates helps in creating sustainable income for the organisation. RHCF has been able to create health care centers in rural India, where there is no modern medical facility within a 50km radius.

See the winners of the India NGO Awards in previous years.


Please contact with any enquiries about the India NGO Awards 2013/14. 

Our conferences and other activities