ETHICAL STORYTELLING FUNDAMENTALS

Explore the ethics of storytelling in fundraising

Following on from our May keynote, this masterclass will explore in more depth how the stories we tell impact more than our ability to fundraise and engage – they also educate. As a sector, we have grown in the last five years in terms of our understanding of the power of storytelling to do good but also to cause harm. This practical two-hour session will look at practical steps taken across the sector and their impact on audience engagement and fundraising.

More information coming soon!

Speaker

This masterclass will be led by Jess Crombie, a researcher and scholar working as a Senior Lecturer at UAL as well as a consultant for the development and humanitarian sector, working with organisations like UNHCR, DEC, Red Cross, Save the Children, and UN WFP. In both contexts, Jess puts her almost two decades as a senior leader in the charity sector to use exploring the ethical complexities in storytelling and finding practical ways to navigate our responsibility. Her research focus is investigating the potential for power shifts by seeking out the opinions and ideas of the people who share their stories with INGOs around both process and portrayal.

This masterclass will be held twice to support fundraisers in different time zones.

02 July • 09.30 BST | 10.30 CEST/CAT | 14.00 IST | 18.30 AEST | 20.30 NZT

04 July • 07.00 PDT | EDT 10.00 | 15.00 BST | 16.00 CEST/CAT